Market Monday: Broccoli and Kale

garden - pardini

In bloom at one of my favorite gardens are zinnia and hydrangea. The sculptures are by Brian Pardini. The garden is by Patty Baldwin. I will share updates of its blooms as the summer goes on.

Throughout this farm market season, I’ll be posting what I’ve found in season at area farm markets and in my CSA basket from Hunter Farms in Fairview.

Greens continue to be strong – my basket included collard greens, kale and lettuce again this week. In the Sisters of Saint Joseph Neighborhood Network community garden on Parade Street, I can tell you that the same veggies are faring well in the square-foot-garden in the city. I harvested the last of the kale out of my garden this week because it has been under attack by the neighborhood infestation of Japanese beetles.

kale

I enjoy kale and particularly like a kale Caesar salad with leftover grilled chicken. The key to a good kale salad is to massage the kale leaves  with the dressing and allow to sit in a baggie or a bowl in the refrigerator for several hours before serving. This helps integrate the dressing into the kale and soften it.

 

My favorite Caesar dressing is

1 egg yolk
1 clove finely minced garlic
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 anchovy fillets (don’t worry they get mashed up)
4 tablespoons lemon juice (or more to taste)
1/8 teaspoon sugar or honey
1 teaspoon fish sauce (optional)
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/3 cup neutral oil, like canola
Freshly ground pepper
Dash of hot sauce (optional)

Place egg, garlic, mustard, anchovy, lemon juice, sugar or honey and fish sauce on the cup of an immersion blender or a small blender. Puree until you don’t see any anchovy and all of the ingredients are combined and a pale yellow in color. With motor running, drizzle in the two oils. It will become thick. Taste. You can add a tablespoon or more oil if it is too thick. Mix in ground pepper and hot sauce (optional) to taste.

This makes enough for several salads and will keep well in refrigerator.

For broccoli, typically I just toss it with olive oil, salt and pepper and roast it in a 400- to 425-degree oven until it is browned. It is wonderful served alone or with some of that Caesar dressing. I’ve been known to dip the broccoli into the dressing while making dinner … only to find I’m full and there’s no broccoli for dinner.

Oh well.

But not everyone likes their broccoli that way. A big hit at potlucks at my former office is a broccoli salad made with a creamy sweet dressing, cheese, raisins, lots of bacon and sunflower seeds.

broccoli salad

For a recent outdoor lunch in Warren, I followed the recipe from Ocean Spray, only I made a few changes. I cooked the fresh broccoli florets in the microwave for 90 seconds because I’m not a fan of raw broccoli. The quick nuke makes the broccoli bright green and keeps the crunch, and makes it easier to eat (in my opinion). I cut the amount of sugar in half for the dressing and used the low-sugar dried cranberries.

The dressing itself is what I typically use for slaw, so here it is

Creamy Dressing

1 cup mayonnaise
1 tablespoon sugar or sugar substitute
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
Freshly ground pepper
Hot sauce, optional, to taste

Mix well. Add to slaw or broccoli salad about an hour before serving. Taste and add salt if needed.

Enjoy summer’s bounty

XOXOXO

Marnie

marnie@marniemeadmedia.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

